James Turrell Named Dean

On May 7, Vice-Chancellor John McCardell announced the appointment of the Rev. Canon James F. Turrell, Ph.D., as dean of the School of Theology at the University of the South. He will assume his new duties on July 1, 2020.

Jennings is the Speaker for the Women's Lecture

Nearly 44 years after General Convention approved the ordination of women to the priesthood and episcopate, there is much to celebrate and much work remaining. In her lecture, House of Deputies President Gay Clark Jennings, a priest since 1979, will reflect on how the Church has changed as women have gained authority and what that progress can mean for women without institutional privilege.

Meet the 2020 Fellows-in-residence

The School of Theology welcomes two fellows-in-residence Feb. 10–21. The Rev. Dr. Deonna D. Neal serves as the chair of the Department of Leadership, Ethics, and the Profession of Arms at Air University at Maxwell Air Force base, Alabama. Cecile S. Holmes is an associate professor in the University of South Carolina's School of Journalism and Mass Communications. Both will be working on their respective projects while in Sewanee.

Alexander to Step Down as Dean

The Rt. Rev. J. Neil Alexander announced on Friday, Nov. 15, that he will step down from his position as dean of the School of Theology effective August 1, 2020. Alexander, currently in his eighth year as dean, had this to say upon announcing his decision. “Being part of the University of the South has been one of the deep joys of my vocation, and I will always be grateful for the privilege of finding my place in Sewanee’s history.”

Women Shine at 2019 DuBose Awards Banquet

Each year, DuBose Awards are bestowed on worthy people who have been serving the Church and their communities in a number of ways. This year, there were two remarkable women given DuBose awards in recognition of selfless body of work over a lifetime.

Winter Convocation Honors Roaf, Heischman, and Walters

The University of the South’s Winter Convocation will be held at 4:30 p.m. Friday, Jan. 17, in All Saints' Chapel. Honorary degrees will be presented to the Rt. Rev. Phoebe Roaf, the Rev. Daniel Heischman, and the Rev. Francic Walter III, T'57.