Awards and Prizes for the 2018 Graduating Class

Pictured left to right—Currie, Meirow, Rowell, and Carlson, and Farr.

Each year at the end of the Easter term, the School of Theology community gathers for a luncheon to celebrate the year and recognize outstanding achievements by the graduating class.

The Rt. Rev, J. Neil Alexander, dean of the School, and the University’s Vice-Chancellor John McCardell host the presentation of the honors, awards, and prizes.

Previous award recipients who were recognized included:

Woods Leadership Award—The Woods Leadership Award is presented to a member of the Junior Class who has most successfully taken the initiative in assuming a leadership role in the class. Elizabeth Farr was recognized at Founders’ Day 2016.

Freeman Award for Merit—The Freeman Award for Merit was established by the Rev. Reed H. Freeman and his wife Nancy. It is awarded to a rising middler who has demonstrated outstanding academic performance and promise in the junior year. Jeremy Carlson received this award at the DuBose Lectures banquet in 2016.

The William A. Griffin Scholarships are given each year to enable students to study in the Holy Land. The fund was established to celebrate the ministry of William A. Griffin, former Professor of Old Testament at The School of Theology from 1959–1988, and was endowed by Professor Griffin’s wife, Anne Griffin, and her daughter, Shore Griffin, and other donors. Senior Jeremy Carlson received the award in 2016–2017.

Dean Alexander paid tribute to elected class officers for their leadership.

  • Student Body President: Gina Jenkins
  • Senior Class Representative: Holly Burris

Sacristans have a central role, often unheralded, in the worship life of the seminary community and we are all dependent on their fulfilling their responsibilities well. Alexander recognized the members of the senior class who serve as sacristans.

  • Ryan Currie, Head Sacristan
  • Elizabeth Farr
  • Jeremy Carlson
  • Mark Harris

Wrapping up the presentation were the prizes to outstanding members of the class in several areas of study. The School's faculty votes on the recipients each year. This year's recipients are:

  • The School of Theology Prize in Biblical Studies was awarded to Jeremy Lloyd Carlson.
  • The School of Theology Prize in Theology and Ethics was awarded to Ryan Daniel Currie.
  • The School of Theology Prize in Historical Studies was awarded to Melanie Gibson Rowell.
  • The School of Theology Urban T. Holmes Prize in Preaching was awarded to Lisa Marie Meirow.