The School of Theology. Sewanee: The University of the South


2012 Commencement

A Convocation for the Conferring of Degrees was held in All Saints’ Chapel on Friday, May 11, to recognize the graduates of The School of Theology. The Very Rev. William S. Stafford, dean of The School of Theology, preached. A luncheon in McClurg Hall was held to honor the Class of 2012 seminary graduates, their guests, families, faculty, and staff after the service.

Honorary degrees were presented to Dr. Diarmaid MacCulloch, the Rt. Rev. Terry A. White, and the Rev. Dr. Carl Daw Jr. during the commencement service.

You may view all photos of commencement here.

You may view the commencement service here.

In addition to the commencement service, there were some additional events of interest for graduates and their friends and families:

  • The Children's Crossing service was held on May 10 in the Chapel of the Apostles from 5 to 6:30 p.m. A dinner followed the service in the refectory.
  • Dr. Diarmaid MacCulloch gave a lecture on Christian Church History on May 10 at St. Luke's Chapel. A reception at McGriff House followed the lecture. You can view the lecture here.
  • MacCulloch signed copies of his books in McClurg Hall following the commencement service. 
  • The graduation picnic was held at Lake Cheston at 4 p.m. on May 11. 

2012 Graduates

Doctor of Ministry

Kesner Ajax
Mark Allen Bourlakas
Joe Kimbell Dunagan

James Landon Rule

Rufus Stanley Runnels

Lee Franklin Shafer

Master of Sacred Theology

Travis David Hutchinson

Master of Arts

Jeannie Kay Babb
Windon Blanton Biesecker
Nadine Braunda Fishbeck
Rebecca Crumpler Mathis
Brandon Thomas Mozingo

Master of Divinity

Holmes Stanford Adams Jr.
Mary Catherine Akamatsu
Jonathan Earl Baugh
Monica Alexandra Carlson
Suzanne Lowe Cate
Christopher James Hackett
Kelsey Loren Hutto
Michael Alban Collins Koehler
Michelle Alisa Fritch Ortiz
Chad Christopher Reis
Robert Steven Ruth
Joseph Anthony Wallace-Williams
Tracy Jennifer Wells Miller
Peter Reginald Wong

Certificate of Theological Studies

Elizabeth Williams Willis

Anglican Studies Program

Viktoria Johanna Petra Gotting